Posted by: don´t panic | January 11, 2017

GERHARD DOTZLER

Some readers might know that this blog is old, has tradition and that the daily events are blogged on different sites. So let me tell you about this blog and how it came to it. At the end I will tell why this headline.

Avatarkunst is one of the oldest blogs about Avatars & Art, maybe the oldest indeed. It is set on default for all my connected blogs like usercreatedrealiy.com – that’s why it comes sometimes in forms to “don’t panic and avatarkunst.wordpress.com“. Kunst means Art and transformative art – so used in New Slovenian Kunst – standing for former complicated relationships between Germans and Slovenians – as conventional art has still such a relationship with Digital Art. So Avatarkunst shall it be as avatarart might gain an even more complicted relationship.

Dr. Gerhard Dotzler is an art historian and one of the pioneers and publisher of computer art. As he retired he donated in late 2016 his archive containing correspondence with all the old masters like Max Bense to ZKM Karlsruhe. Dr. Dotzler told me as I asked him some years ago what he thinks of my doing – after laughing for a moment – that I am the creator of Avatarkunst. Why I ask he asked? Then he outlined why he sees it this way. Avatarkunst is an artform that Avatars look at art in virtual worlds reflecting themselves and the art they looking at. I always thought I created Paramerterkunst and Computer Minimal Art. I published about the balance between man and machine when it comes to generative art and stochastics in cybernetic esthetics. That the computer generates and the user says “stop” by pointing on an artwork on the screen defining “it” by this doing to a work of art, granting it later the signature of the human being – I would add as Art Blue writing in rezmagazine on AIs as the workforce of the future – leaving the hard working computer grieving behind (*LOL*).

Dr. Dotzler published some art calendars in the 80s and 90s with my works of Parameter Art and Computer Minimal Art on it. We even gained some prices for them. So he shall best know. Now over the years I have to agree on his early prediction more and more. Avatars in virtual worlds become them self a matter of art. Social art is a fact in art studies, in social media art. Linden Lab has recently launched Bento as an extension to Second Life Mesh Avatars where bones are being implemented in head and fingers to make the animations more realistic. I spoke with some body creators like Maitreya and they say the women are crasy about to get them. They are quite expensive. In total you need for a good looking but still basic avatar 10.000 Linden which is 38.00 Euro or 39.00 US Dollar. That’s quite interesting as the concept of Second Life is based – since 2004 – on land tiers and on free to run avatars. I saw this happening – quite amused, but full aware and anticipating the situation – that even in an academic student course limited to one week the ladies in the seminar asked how to get “better hair, better skin” and that they modified their shape from a realistic “that’s me as I am” to a “this I like to be” …

It did not help much that I said to the students on their way to becoming teachers: We shall concentrate on the didactic and technical approch “how to get an artwork uploaded and presented in a virtual realm”. Avatars are just now for us the tool to act inworld. Some days ago I found out that XFire has stopped to work – after 13 years of operation. All the videos we uploaded to Xfire in this seminar (called “I in 3D”) are gone. Luckily a student has made a backup on youtube so I could link there for the Immersivia book I am writing on.

Here it comes an old document where Avatarkunst was born. Keep in mind it was 2009 – no Mesh – no Bento. The male student at the beginning Attard Magic aka David Cassar has still his standard looking – we said “noob” – most of the other students (David was the only man in the seminar) changed “for the movie, for the recording, for being seen in public” – being seen by you now after eight years.

 

I said I will add a word on Dr. Gerhard Dotzler. He told me last year that he has to give up on health implications and offered my foundation some of his stock. I sadly had to deny. I dont have the capacity to store tons of papers and prints. I sent him a copy of the Molly Bloom calendar 2017 we printed – and it returned today as “undeliverable”.

Leave a Reply

Categories

