Posted by: don´t panic | June 2, 2013

REAL to REAL: Avatarkunst now in facebook

Is facebook good for ‘art’? *coughs* a blog entry by Reiner Schneeberger

I dont know it. I just tried and got two severe ‘warnings’ and a ‘7 days ban’ by Zuckerberg. Was it Zuckerberg or is his staff not able to do what he promissed? Not good for a man like Zuckerberg. Promising and keeping nothing of it. No wonder that some friends said to me:  “I cant believe, you are now in? You allways said ‘NO’ to it.”

What happened? First I decided to use a coded name there, as I want to use facebook only for ‘Digital Art’. I saw 100 or 1000 using their SL names in facebook. Easy to find out just enter ‘Resident’, the name Linden Lab offers as family name since the last two years in Second Life. So I created ‘Ervare Far[r]oretre’. Just open http://rot13.com and you see it is ROT-13 coded ‘Reiner S[ch]neeberger’. Americans – as I know from Klay Schrödel and Robert Schrödel – cant speak ‘Schnee’, so I truncated it to ‘Sne[e]’ to make ‘Faroretre’ soundwise working.

Then I (= Ervare Farroretre) was asked again and again by facebook to invite friends and I got ‘suggestions’. I just ‘accepted’ these suggestions. So I got my first warning of a ‘missue of facebook’! And I shall report when I believe that the warning is wrong. I did. And I got: ‘we will contact you very soon’. No contact. No Zuckerberg, no Zuckerberg assistant, nothing! This procedure happened with different content twice. I learned, frustrated of course.

Then I wanted to invite my friends from SL or Avination, inworldz, Metropolis, SpotOn3D … knowing only their virtual name, some quite famous, some of them having 500 SL friends in facebook! This caused me to be blocked for 7 days: “facebook is only for REAL friends. You have to know them in REAL life”. So facebook seems not to be a social network for virtual worlds, not for art made in virtual worlds. Al least if one has a ‘Second Life’ in art, like many REAL artists. Feathers Boa, Bryn Oh – maybe both read this text and they smile and give me a facebook ‘like’ 🙂 And YES, thank you Feathers for the robot and all the others for donating 3D-art for ‘conservation‘.

At least I know it now and can become a consultant *YEAH! a facebook work around-er I can add in my vita*: First send an IM to a friend REAL to REAL in virtual worlds and then add him/her to your facebook friendslist. Zuckerberg is happy then:

Real To Real Songtext:
Real To Real Cacophony
Echo Echo
Endlessly
Satellites Communicate
Pick Up Signal
Then Translate

Real To Real Cacophony
Transmission For You And Me
Satellites Communicate
Pick Up Signal
Then Translate

Real To Real Cacophony
Echo Echo
Endlessly
Do You Receive Me?
Do You Receive Me?
Do You Receive Me?

“NO”

Want a 5 minutes ‘REAL TO REAL’ cacophony on it? Here it comes from You´re Wrong I´m Right: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RDEP-NUHMW0

Here my ‘suggestion’ for the song: http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x6fpk4_real-to-real-cacophony_music

Responses

  1. oh yes. I forgot: I can like myself in facebook. Simple Minds – the name of the group REAL TO REAL C…

    • yes: REAL TO REAL it is!


Leave a Reply

Categories

